The three departments under the Faculty of Education and Media Studies are Language and Communication, Journalism, and Technical Education. In fact, the Department of Journalism evolved from the Department of Language and Communication and started offering a Bachelor of Journalism—the first of its kind in Malawi. As for the Department of Technical Education, the name is somewhat deceptive because it offers more than just technical education degrees. It also offers and Bachelor of Education Business degree and a University Certificate of Education. The Master’s in Vocational Education and the Master’s in Health and Behaviour Change Communication are the two postgraduate degrees offered under the faculty.